HISTORY OF YALLOURN - POST OFFICE (provided by Luisa DeAgnoi)	
1874	Coal first discovered in Yallourn area, form of lignite.
1886	Small private mine opened up to promote the brown coal.
19.10.1888	The Great Morwell Coal Mining Co registered to mine coal.
10.9.1890	Private railway line built and connected to main railway line at Hernes Oak siding, selling over 200 tons coal per week.
1897	The Mining Co produced the first briquettes, selling at 17 shillings 6 pence per ton, but in 1898 the Co was wound up.
1917	The coal mine reopened with sales at 15 shillings per ton.
Sept 1917	The Government Brown Coal Advisory Committee planed to establish a 50,000 kw capacity power house in the area and transmit power by transmission lines to Melbourne and other parts of the state at an estimated cost of £1,686,000 with open cut mining method.
20.12.1918	Bill passed in Parliament authorising appointment of three Electricity Commissioners, whom were appointed in April 1919.
July 1920	Sir John Monash appointed Chairman of Commissioners.
1920	A R LaGerche prepared and submitted a town plan to Victorian Government, approved, and township laid out in 1921.
Jan 1921	Official inception of State Electricity Commission with Sir John Monash as the first Commission Chairman.
Feb 1921	Work began for power house and open cut on 270 ha land purchased from Charles Savige for $\pounds7,150$ , with son Lindsay being the first local employee.
1921	Three works camps set up at East Camp, West Camp and South Camp.
1921	Latrobe proposed as name of town nearby to Latrobe River but as Latrobe town already exists in Tasmania, the naming of the town was called YALLOURN from two aboriginal words - YALLEEN (meaning brown) and LOURN (meaning fire).
1921	First house erected in Yallourn in Maiden Street.
1921	Yallourn population 138 (116 males and 22 females) all in camps.
Dec 1921	Site for railway station decided and called Yallourn.
10.2.1921	The first Post Office (a receiving office) opened in an Eastern Camp Hut with J C David appointed Receiving Office Keeper.
July 1921	Post Office raised to Allowance status with Money Order and Savings Bank facilities and H Alexander appointed to the position.
Nov 1921	A Telephone and Telegram Office was opened at the Post Office.
1922	A Post Office Receiving Office opened at West Camp.
13.2.1922	State School No 4085 opened with 15 pupils.
June 1923	Population - 250 in township and 1200 in the camps.
Oct 1923	Postmaster H Alexander and complete Post Office facilities relocated to West Camp from East Camp and name changed to Yallourn; and East Camp used as Receiving Office with Chas J Selk appointed Receiving Office Keeper.
1923	Power house built and electric power connected to Moe, Trafalgar, Yarragon and Tyers.
24.6.1924	Power lines and power connect to Melbourne.
22.9.1925	W J McLean appointed Postmaster with opening of new double storey brick building in Yallourn and Post Office raised to Official status Grade 3.
11.5.1927	G W Yeoman appointed Postmaster at Yallourn.
1933	There were 792 occupied dwellings in Yallourn and West Camp with total population of 2764 (1572 males and 1192 females).
30.11.1934	Severe floods burst the weir, flooding the open cut and destroying most equipment, taking 6 months to repair and drain the open cut before resuming

	production.
4.6.1937	H J W Elliott transferred to Yallourn as Postmaster.
1947	Total population 4602 (2611 males and 1991 females). There were 1326 occupied dwellings.
11.2.1953	J J Caulfield promoted on transfer to Yallourn as Postmaster after retirement of H J W Elliott.
1954	Total population 5580 (3408 males and 2172 females). There were 1151 occupied dwellings after the closure of West Camp.
26.10.1956	J J McNamara promoted from Grade 2 to Grade 3 on transfer as Postmaster.
24.3.1960	H T Christie promoted from Grade 2 to Grade 3 on transfer from Mirboo North to Yallourn as Postmaster.
1961	Total population 5010 (2974 males and 2036 females). There were 1121 occupied dwellings.
14.1.1965	T R Cook transferred from South Australia as Yallourn Postmaster.
1966	Total population 4250.
27.7.1967	C F Harrison promoted from Grade 2 to Grade 3 on transfer from Violet Town as Yallourn Postmaster.
1971	Total population 3220.
31.7.1973	G R McNamara promoted from Grade 2 to Grade 3 on transfer from South Australia as Yallourn Postmaster.
11.12.1975	Post Office downgraded from Grade 3 to Grade 2.
18.3.1976	T J Tobin promoted from Senior Postal Clerk to Grade 2 on transfer from Tatura as Yallourn Postmaster.
1976	Total population 1880.
1977	Total population 1400.
1978	Total population 970.
1.3.1979	Mrs V A Talbot became Postmistress on downgrading of Yallourn Post Office to Unofficial status.
31.1.1980	Post Office closed for business permanently.
Jan 1980	Total population 500 in 135 occupied dwellings.

Mid-1980s Yallourn completely excavated for Brown Coal Mining.



Yallourn Post Office c1925

Yallourn Post Office c1965